Osun Election: Oyetola, Adeleke To Face-Off Again As INEC Clears 15 Candidates


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates for the Osun State Governorship election, following the close of nominations by political parties.

INEC’s National Commissioner and Chairman of Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, announced this in a statement on Tuesday in Abuja.

He explained that the unveiling of the final list was in compliance with the Electoral Act 2022, following the personal particulars and list of candidates (Form EC9) published at the commission’s state and local government offices on March 25.

Okoye, however, said any party that observed the name of its candidate was missing from the list “shall notify the commission in writing, signed by its national chairman and secretary, supported with an affidavit not later than 90 days to the election”.

“Furthermore, the attention of parties is drawn to Section 32(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, which provides that failure to notify the commission ‘shall not be ground to invalidate the election,” he said.

“The final list is published in our state and local government offices in Osun State, as well as our website and social media platforms for public information as required by law.

“Political parties are enjoined to note the provision of the law for compliance.”

In the final list released by the electoral umpire, the incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola, will face his old-time rival Senator Ademola Adeleke in the July 16 poll.

In 2018, Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) defeated Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) following a supplementary election held in seven polling units.

See the full list of candidates in the coming election below:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here